How do we evaluate?

For each inspection a cluster of development scales is available. By using development scales, we want to encourage the school team to (continue to) develop its own quality. The development scales are not a copy of pdf filethe OK (5.9 MB), but are based on it.

The development scales each consist of four levels:

  1. Below expectation: several key features can be improved.
  2. Approximates expectation: in addition to a number of strengths, there are also several flaws. As a result, the expectations are not yet entirely met.
  3. Meets expectation: a lot of strengths and no major points or areas for improvement.
  4. Exceeds expectation: mainly strengths, including significant good practice examples.

The level ‘meets the expectation’ encompasses the quality standards of pdf filethe OK (5.9 MB), the reference framework for quality in education. In full, this level thus means ‘meets the expectations of the reference framework for quality in education’. The level ‘exceeds expectation’ implies the same quality expectations, but at this level the Inspectorate of Education also expects it to be a good practice example.

The criteria for good practice examples are:

  • The practice exceeds what is customary.
  • The practice has a positive impact on the results and effects in pupils.
  • The practice is embedded in the institution’s practice.
  • The practice is founded on evaluations or institution specific needs or is based on renewed insights into quality in education.
  • The practice can inspire other schools.

Development scales: